From Blue Bonnets to the Andes Mountains

Friday, May. 25, 2007 at 11:52 p.m.


In waving fields of blue bonnets, big double axle trucks, and star filled skies as far as the eye could see - I took a trip back in time. I had gotten myself to a place, a mental place where I despised where I spent part of my childhood. But last month on my trip there with my baby girl, I had the chance to realize - I did not actually hate the PLACE I grew up - only my mother's constant badgering that it is (currently) my "home." -It is not - for the record. I love NY - I love true winters, a snow filled yard, chilly September evenings, ice covered lakes, glorious fall colors, and the smell smoke through a neighbors chimney in November. These things I cannot have in Texas - in Texas there was way too much heat for me. But, last month I at least learned - the place itself is not what I loathed.

My mother's annoying insistence it is my "home" and her constant insult of New York and the people who live here - that is what I loathe. But that is a story for another time.

I am just happy to have found a moment of silence where I can write an entry!!!

My trip to Texas with my baby girl was pretty good. My Jillian got to take her first plane ride - and I kept myself calm for the plane ride - which was a pretty big feat in itself! Especially for our bumpy landing back in NY! And then - when I got home... did my husband have a surprise waiting for us. While we were in TX, he got a dog. Yes - another dog. It has grown on me of course, and he is a very, very adorable little dog. And he is going to STAY little. And he is always happy. He is a little Pomeranian puppy.

Since then life has just been a whirl wind. I had a few meetings with the school to get Jillian set up for her services in the fall. And her behavior has been pretty unpredictable. Plus Aidan seems to be going through a phase of testing me at every possible chance - it is leaving me a lot of days where I feel VERY ready to pull my hair out. Just one step at a time though..........

And I have so much more to say - I just HAVE to find a way to start getting more time to write. It helps me keep my sanity! And my time, and my sanity have certainly been fleeting recently!

Once I got back from Texas - it was like suddenly I realized - holy crap - my giant trip to Peru is 2 months away. NOW - well.. ONE MONTH from THIS MORNING (the 25th) I will be on a plane - on my way! I have gotten my lazy ass on the treadmill nearly every morning for the past month... I am trying very hard to watch what I eat. I am drinking an insane amount of water... because once I am there I am supposed to drink a lot of water so I don't get altitude sickness. I am just REALLY excited - but REALLY nervous at the same time! I have so many things I am doing at once... and I think I am about to add training on the Toltec way of Shamanism into the mix starting in September... which I am very excited about. I just don't know what all to do! Should I try and cram as much spanish into my head as possible over the next month? Or just wing it? I know some Quechua - but not enough for a conversation. And I just want to get everything PERFECT before I go. I want a better/updated version of my camera sooner rather than later, and my poor brain is just SCATTERED!

ANYWAY - one more thing before I finish this crazy all over the place entry - I finally traded in my trailblazer! It was overdue - the poor thing was getting to where it really needed some work - and we were just leasing it AND we were pretty far over our mileage. So, I now have a very nifty Saturn Vue, that I am quite happy with.

And on that note, it is late, and I am overtired! I have plenty of pictures up on the buzznet site, if you want to look at them!

Have a wonderful holiday!

Heard in my house: Amanda will be 14 Sunday. Time FLIES!

Something Extra:

Feeling: The current mood of lostinmylove at www.imood.com

Craving:

0 comments so far


< -Last Entry - Next Entry- >






adopt your own virtual pet!





*HUGS* TOTAL! Give lostinmylove more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own